I Am

I am the furnace that burns the bones of love
And yields the ashes to waiting mourners.

I am the stone that stands when all others have fallen,
Washed away by rains and time.

I am the endless vista that you climbed so far to see,
Only to turn away, back to your safe walls.

I am the meaning that has always escaped understanding.
I am the ocean of blood that is the foundation of Man.

I am the depths of  joy,
And the heights of bitter sorrow.

I am the Great Beast’s maw,
That one day will devour the world.

And I am time.
I am time.
I am all of time.
And your future is but an ancient memory
To me.

November 7, 2013, Los Angeles

2 thoughts on “I Am

  1. Samanthamj says:

    and I am impressed.
    Very cool poem.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

