Halloween Reflections

Halloween is really my favorite time of year. I like Halloween the way that a lot of people like Christmas. Not to make a pun, but there’s a spirit to Halloween that makes me happy.

But, the last couple of Halloweens before this one were off. It seemed to have become the time of year when something would go wrong that would spoil the enjoyment. And this year it was heading the same way, until I decided that things would be different.

In a very real, but somewhat metaphorical sense, I began this correction by slaying a vampire. And believe me, when you are standing over the creature, spike in its chest, heavy mallet in hand, and its final blood all over you, the sense of release is utterly concrete.  When you realize that it absolutely will never rise again, will nevermore bring its seductive evil into your life, things change. The darkness that had crept into all the sunny spaces dissipates rapidly. Without the vampire feeding on you, the sun is once again warm and welcome. The good things you’d begun to shun are again available and open. Peace returns, and with it, hope and love.

When it comes to Halloween, it’s all about fun, costumes, parties, and sharing all of that with like-minded people. And one of my favorite places for Halloween is Villain’s Tavern in downtown Los Angeles. Always good live music, unique mixology, and people who are there for a great time. It doesn’t hurt that the whole place has a vibe that mixes Gothic, Victorian and steampunk elements, as well as really great bar food.

I had decided some time ago that this Halloween, I would be Tony Stark – the billionaire super-genius who, in movies and comics, is Iron Man. But rather than go as the superhero, I went as the man. Robert Downey Jr. has made the character an icon, and I was easily recognized. It took a minute, but I got used to people addressing me as “Tony”.  If you aren’t familiar with the character, he has a round, patterned light in his chest, which is a power supply for his heart.

My Tony Stark, complete with fusion-reactor heart.

My Tony Stark, complete with fusion-reactor heart.

My companion, decided she would go as a dead tree. Being a fashionista as well as a visual artist, it was, to say the least quite stylized, and she was very lovely.

Of course, we met some hilariously fun people.

IMG_20131101_002920

I’m not sure what she was, but it was colorful and weird. Her friend was, apparently a ninja, and a good one, as you can barely see him in this picture:

Yes, there really is a person there.

And the band was fantastic. A bit blue-grassy, but with an edge. Great vocals, fantastic musicianship. Yes, a one string washboard bass as well.

Inventive drinks like “Belladonna”, “The Fatal Hour” were delicious and strong.  So, for once, Halloween was a solid fun experience.

But I wasn’t stopping there. A while back, I’d gotten tickets to LA’s largest gaming/comics/cosplay convention, Comikaze. And that went down today. It was tremendous. So many incredible costumes (which is the main thing I go for). Superb people watching.

Again, I was Tony Stark. and this crowd loves Tony Stark. Because the Iron Man character is popular and has appeared in movies like The Avengers, with many other popular characters, lots of people wanted their picture taken with Tony Stark. Everybody was having a great time just looking and being seen, and indulging themselves in an unashamed geek orgy.

So, for the rest of this musing, I’ll just present to you pictures from the Con. But first, a word of wisdom: If you don’t like how your life is going, step up and change it. The fiercest monsters have only the power you give them, and you can simply take it back.

I wish you a fine Halloween, this and every year.

Random girl bounced up to get a picture with "Tony".

Random girl bounced up to get a picture with “Tony”.

EXTERMINATE!

EXTERMINATE!

Tony Stark, Iron Man

Tony Stark, Iron Man

Doctor Who was very popular.

Doctor Who was very popular.

Blurry, but had to include. This little kid in his Iron Patriot costume yelled "Tony! Tony!" So I knelt down and told him, "help me! Use your palm repuslor!"

Blurry, but had to include. This little kid in his Iron Patriot costume yelled “Tony! Tony!” So I knelt down and told him, “help me! Use your palm repuslor!”

The Amazing Daenerys Targaryen

The Amazing Daenerys Targaryen

Poison Ivy and...?

Poison Ivy and…?

Amazing detail - a real movie-magic costume.

Amazing detail – a real movie-magic costume.

Ummm... yeah.

Ummm… yeah.

Tony Stark and S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent.

Tony Stark and S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent.

Leave a Reply

