Invocation

(These are lyrics I wrote, and had music in mind, but have never recorded the song)

Thousand-colored whirlwind / tell me your name.
Whisper it to me, / show me your flame.
And I’ll keep you safely / far and away
from the noise and the rain / from caskets of clay.

Thunder of ancient gods / high on their peak.
Through all of their noise / now hear, let me speak.
And I’ll tell you secrets / that you’ve longed to hear.
To free you from suff’ring, / free you from fear.

(chorus)
Wind, rain and fire.
Oh! To be with you!
Wind, rain and fire
in the sky again.

(verse)
Storm clouds far in the sky / gather you ’round.
And hold yet the rain / that falls to the ground.
Then I’ll take you safely / to that northern place
Where the earth cannot touch you / where you show your face.

Breezes that touch the cheek, / searching in vain
for the love you’ve forgotten. / Stay with me, remain.
And I’ll bring you flowers / that need your caress,
in a place long abandoned / where you can say yes.

(chorus)
Wind, rain and fire.
Oh! To be with you!
Wind, rain and fire
in the sky again.

Wind, rain and fire
in the sky again.

17 January, 2009. Revised 2 April 2011.

Leave a Reply

